Welcome to BIG SHOTS – BC's Friendliest Outdoor Forum.

It looks like you haven't created an account yet. Why not take a minute to register for your own free account now? As a member you get free access to all of our forums and posts plus the ability to post your own messages, communicate directly with other members and much more.

Register Log in
  • This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Home Page for Badlands Knifeworks and Cypress County Calls

Smoked Salmon Brine

Thread starter #1
B

beartooth

Anyone have a good brine recipe for salmon? I'm new to smoking and need a few pointers. Had fairly good success with my first batch.

If it ain't broken don't fix it.... Continue doing what you are doing and just tweek it.

I have been smoking salmon for many years and use a dry brine of 50% brown sugar/ 50% course salt. I tweek my recipe by sprinkling different herbs or spices on it just before smoking. I like the fact that dry brines are quick and easy.

moosen gram

Resident Hunter
If it ain't broken don't fix it.... Continue doing what you are doing and just tweek it.

I have been smoking salmon for many years and use a dry brine of 50% brown sugar/ 50% course salt. I tweek my recipe by sprinkling different herbs or spices on it just before smoking. I like the fact that dry brines are quick and easy.
Your recipe sounds just like ours, we add garlic and onion powder to the salt and brown sugar mix, it's a great recipe :encouragement:

Thread starter #4
B

beartooth

I prefer a wet brine right now and got my first recipe off the "net". It was a citrusy recipe and it was alright but not quite what I was looking for. More interested in a "candied" or maple flavour.

moosen gram

Resident Hunter
I prefer a wet brine right now and got my first recipe off the "net". It was a citrusy recipe and it was alright but not quite what I was looking for. More interested in a "candied" or maple flavour.